ISO 9000 and ISO 14000

The ISO 9000 and ISO 14000 families are among ISO’s best known standards ever. ISO 9001:2000 and ISO 14001 (1996 and 2004 versions) are implemented by over a million organizations in 161 countries. The ISO 9000 family addresses “quality management”. This means what the organization does to fulfill: the customer’s quality requirements, and,applicable regulatory requirements, while aiming to enhance customer satisfaction, and,achieve continual improvement of its performance in pursuit of these objectives. The ISO 14000 family addresses “environmental management”. This means what the organization does to: minimize harmful effects on the environment caused by its activities, and to achieve continual improvement of its environmental performance.

The TickIT guidelines are an interpretation of ISO 9000 produced by the UK Board of Trade to suit the processes of the information technology industry, especially software development.

AS 9000 is the Aerospace Basic Quality System Standard, an interpretation developed by major aerospace manufacturers. The current version is AS 9100.

PS 9000 is an application of the standard for Pharmaceutical Packaging Materials.

QS 9000 is an interpretation agreed upon by major automotive manufacturers (GM, Ford, Chrysler). It includes techniques such as FMEA and APQP. QS 9000 is now replaced by ISO/TS 16949.

ISO/TS 16949:2002 is an interpretation agreed upon by major automotive manufacturers (American and European manufacturers); the latest version is based on ISO 9001:2000. The emphasis on a process approach is stronger than in ISO 9001:2000. ISO/TS 16949:2002 contains the full text of ISO 9001:2000 and automotive industry-specific requirements.

TL 9000 is the Telecom Quality Management and Measurement System Standard, an interpretation developed by the telecom consortium, QuEST Forum. The current version is 4.0 and unlike ISO 9001 or the above sector standards, TL 9000 includes standardized product measurements that can be benchmarked. In 1998 QuEST Forum developed the TL 9000 Quality Management System to meet the supply chain quality requirements of the worldwide telecommunications industry. Based on the ISO 9001-2000 standard, the TL 9000 adds telecom-specific requirements.

ISO 13485:2003 is the medical industry’s equivalent of ISO 9001:2000. Whereas the standards it replaces were interpretations of how to apply ISO 9001 and ISO 9002 to medical devices, ISO 13485:2003 is a stand-alone standard. Compliance with ISO 13485 does not necessarily mean compliance with ISO 9001:2000.

COPC -2000

The COPC-2000® CSP Standard is a Performance Management Framework delivering results in all Customer Service Provider (CSP) contact center operations, especially in Call Centers, E-Commerce Centers and Transaction Processing Operations. It is relied on worldwide as a valued strategy for implementing contact center best practices that improve performance in customer satisfaction and service, inbound and outbound sales, service dispatch, collections, retention, remittance processing, fulfillment, and other service operations.


The purpose of this article is to provide a basic overview of CMMi for Software Development, in the form of a definition of CMMi and an explanation of how the official CMMi-DEV Version 1.2 (2006) documentation is organized.

CMMi® stands for Capability Maturity Model® Integration and it is a process improvement maturity model that has been developed by the Software Engineering Institute, SEI, at Carnegie Mellon. It is important to note that CMMi defines what processes and activities need to be done and not how these processes and activities are done. The goal of CMMi is process improvement and CMMi can be thought of as a Software Process Improvement, SPI, framework.

The latest version of CMMi (1.2) was released in August 2006. There are 3 areas addressed by this version of CMMi, namely: CMMi Development, CMMi Services and CMMi Acquisition. This article explains the CMMi for Development CMMi-DEV. CMMi® for Development, Version 1.2, contains 573 pages and is organized around 22 process areas that represent the core processes for software development.

Copyright 2008, All rights reserved.
Designed and Hosted by
Mirage Solutions